Russia banner
HOME: Famous Russians: Sergei Prokofiev

Sergei Prokofiev


Russian composer Sergei ProkofievSergei Prokofiev was a Russian composer, pianist and conductor considered by many to be one of the most important composers of the 20th century. A master of numerous musical genres, his orchestral work, operas, ballets, chamber works and piano music are enjoyed throughout major concert halls around the world. 

Studying at the St. Petersburg Conservatory from 1904 to 1914, his works quickly gained a reputation for being both ultra-modern and innovative. His Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op 25 (the Classical Symphony), is considered to be the first definitive neo-classical composition.

Other popular works include the ballets Romeo & Juliet, The Love for Three Oranges and Chout, operas The Fiery Angel and War and Peace (based on the novel by Leo Tolstoy) and music for the Sergei Eisenstein films Alexander Nevsky and Ivan the Terrible, as well as for the children's story Peter and the Wolf.


Sergei Prokofiev Facts


Russian Name: Сергей Прокофьев

Date of Birth: April 23, 1891

Place of Birth: Sontsovka, Russian Empire

  • present day Krasne, Donetsk Oblast, Ukraine

Date of Death: March 5, 1953

Place of Death: Moscow, USSR

Musical Compositions: view list of Prokofiev's works


Prokofiev - Romeo and Juliet


A Tribute to Sergei Prokofiev - Part 1/2


A Tribute to Sergei Prokofiev - Part 2/2


Prokofiev - Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op 25


Prokofiev - Romeo & Juliet - Paris Opera Ballet